It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day

A new dawn has come, and the Railway Safety Regulator has a new Board that will steward the destiny of the organization over the next three years.

The Cabinet’s recent decision on 8 December 2023, saw the appointment of a stellar lineup of individuals who bring a wealth of expertise and diverse perspectives to the Railway Safety Regulator Board. Ms. Nompumelelo Sibongile Ekeke, Chairperson, has been re-appointed, reaffirming her exceptional leadership and strategic guidance, in ensuring continuity and unwavering commitment to the organisation’s mission.

Mr. Sisa Lunga Mtwa, Deputy Chairperson, has also been re-appointed, bringing with him extensive experience and steadfast support in steering the RSR towards greater achievements. Adv. Johannes Collen Weapond, another re-appointment, has played a pivotal role in navigating complex regulatory matters, contributing significantly to the RSR’s regulatory framework. Joining the esteemed Board as new appointments are:

  • Ms. Zamakhanya Makhanya
  • Ms. Nolitha Pieterson
  • Prof. Tshepo Herbet Mongalo
  • Mr. Lungi Maminza
  • Mr. Tawana Mopeli
  • Ms. Sibusisiwe Nomfundo Molefe
  • Ms. Xoliswa Njokweni-Mlotywa
  • Ms. Mala Somaru (Shareholder’s Representative)

“The Railway Safety Regulator has, throughout its existence, been a beacon of excellence in the transportation industry, a guardian of safety, reliability, and efficiency within our railway systems. Today, as we stand at the threshold of a new era, let us reflect on the pivotal role the RSR plays in sustaining the lifeblood of our nation’s transportation network. The railways, an unsung hero in our economic tapestry, owe much of their success to the unwavering commitment of the RSR.

The expectations placed upon the new Board are weighty, but I have unwavering confidence that each member is not only equal to the task but will surpass these expectations. Safety, as the bedrock of our existence, must remain paramount. To the Board, I extend an earnest plea to enforce and enhance safety standards, ensuring our railways stand among the safest globally,” Deputy Minister Of Transport, Mr Lisa Mangcu said.

© RSR - Railway Safety Regulator 2024 - All Rights Reserved.